Antique Book for Two Book Buddies

 

This cake was so much fun. The cake (the open book) is a white cake. The cover is thin black fondant and the top pages are a creamy off white fondant – on top of off white butter cream. I decided to handwrite the message my client requested because it seemed the most “antique” of an option. At the last minute I did realize however that I didn’t have a black food writer.

The bookmark was pretty fun as it was a few pieces of left over fondant. A few blues rolled around together and then rolled out making a pretty marble colored bookmark. I dusted here and there with gold shimmer dust but the project was too sticky so I had some trouble with that as well.

The lower book is made of fudge. I have never made fudge before this project. I can’t say before this book because I failed at fudge before this book was complete. I used my modeling tools to carve out the indention for the pages and filled that area with white frosting. I carved a line down the front of the book for the binding area. Then I inscribed the spine of the book with the recipients’ name as the title and the first 3 letters of the friend’s name as the author at the bottom.

 

About loramichelle

Military spouse living life with our family in Vicenza Italy.
This entry was posted in Books, Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Antique Book for Two Book Buddies

What do you think?!?!

