We Remember

Image

I was asked to make a patriotic cake for handing out on our post. We looked through several ideas and this cake was just fabulous. http://caketrimmings.com/fourth-of-july-cakes.html had a simple guide to how to get this stylish look. I used different sized pans and wasn’t able to use their double swag but this was just awesome.

What you are looking at is 2 tiers of two layer chocolate cake with a yummy butter cream frosting. Each layer I covered in Royal Blue tinted Marshmallow fondant. Then I cut starts from white fondant using a regular cookie cutter. The swag I followed caketrimming’s instructions and it worked out great. A previous drape I tried to attach failed. This diy said to roll out your white, lay on the stripes of red, then roll it a bit to mash it together. My previous attempt I tried to roll them side by side to get them to meld. This worked MUCH better!

I think my colors turned out fabulous. I walked all over my house carrying my fondants checking the different lightings to see if my colors were true. I’d hate to have a pink striped flag!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

So that’s my cake! Any questions??

About loramichelle

Military spouse living life with our family in Vicenza Italy.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Patriotic, Tiers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?!?!

