Back to School – Bake Off!

Image

Hi All! I’m trying really hard to post my current cakes so I can remember them as detailed as possible as well we going back and blogging what I created PB (pre blog).

This week was a bake off on our post. I found out about it late with a few days notice and I’m usually pretty busy with life, children and other baking projects. Someone mentioned she’d make a cake – but it would be ugly. I volunteered to decorate her cake – and here it is. This is a chocolate box cake with a carved off hunk from another cake pan placed on top for the pocket. We decided on the project before the cake arrived so I actually pre-made my school supplies – which I never do!

So we made some pretty pink marshmallow fondant and smooth covered the entire backpack. I love purple so I mixed some blue into my leftover pink to get purple but it started making thisĀ gorgeousĀ marble. SOOO we used the marble for the straps! Then I finished the blend and used the solid puple for our zipper work.

Image

This little gadget came in so handy! I used the solid wheel for the stripe down the center of the straps and the bumpy wheel for the sewing on the straps. THEN I used the zig zag for the zipper! I knew I wanted the zipper open but it wasn’t until it was pulling apart that I really fell in love with the super open zipper pattern. So I used my sharp tool and cut my opening for the pocket, accented the sides with zipper, snipped off my school supplies and stuffed them into my frosting.

Image

ImageImageImageImage

About loramichelle

Military spouse living life with our family in Vicenza Italy.
This entry was posted in Cakes, For Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?!?!

