Death Star

death star cake

Death Star! I didn’t even know what it was when I answered the request to make this cake for a wife who had to be away from her husband on his birthday. This was a first, on so many levels.
The cake form was baked in a metal mixing bowl, well 1/3 of it was and then the opposite 1/3. The space between needed some oomph so we put 3 layers of cake in there too. All  vanilla cake but really this was straight box cake. White butter cream helped to shape the cake and make it formed and round. This was my FIRST and LAST time using purchased fondant. After learning to make marshmallow fondant myself, I’ll never use the boxed kind again. The taste – meh – but it’s so much harder to work with too. I rolled out the darker grey fondant and shaped the cake from the top center down.  I had to do some finagling to pull the fondant back to cut down into the cake to make the nifty indent for the laser that I hadn’t planned for.

Here’s a nerdy part – I used parchment paper and scissors to decide about the right size and shape for each ring of shapes. Then I rolled out the light grey. The indent was smoothed in slowly, a little at a time, using a kid’s toy ball. Then I made the rings with various sizes of drinking glasses, pressing them in just firmly enough.

My Death Star Cake was coming together but looking at pictures online I felt like I needed some techy texture  I took the cap to a regular pen, you know a “crystal bic pen with a streamlined cap” just something I saw laying around (but then I cleaned several times before touching the cake with). I just used the small end of the cap and pressed it into the various corners of my shapes. I was almost happy, if I’d had little round cupcake sprinkles – I would have put little lights in the circles but at 4 am I didn’t have any and wasn’t going to find any. So I took my gel food coloring, mixed it with a bit of vanilla and painted a fraction of the circles black. In the end, the husband loved it. I knew it had flaws but it was a death star cake – and that was enough for me. 😀

Fondant is as easy as play dough. Take pieces and make what you dream. If it doesn’t work for you the way you want it to – start over. Homemade marshmallow fondant is fantastic and much less expensive than buying it. The darker colors can be very intimidating but with gel color and AmeriColor super colors you can get there. Fondant tools too – don’t have to be that complicated either! Pay attention to food safety and cleanliness but cookie cutters, pizza cutters, and every day household stuff can make some really awesome details for your cakes.

If I had this cake to make over again – it would be so different! The cake substance would be a recipe better suited to being shaped and a bit less squishy, the fondant would be homemade, the buttercream would be smoother applied – OH and I would use little round cupcake sprinkles to make more of a light affect.

What cool cake designs have you made or have you wanted made?

About loramichelle

Military spouse living life with our family in Vicenza Italy.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Epic, Movies, Transportation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Death Star

  1. Kate Elwell says:

    I love this! I will definitely be making my husband a death star cake for his 30th birthday next month. Perfect!

  2. I am LOVD says:

    Amazing job doesn’t even begin to describe how this cake turned out!!!!!!

  3. Oh wow! That is amazing!!! You put my cakes to shame lol

  4. Thanks for sharing your cool idea with us! Stop by again next week and link up another cool idea.

    Have a great week!
    Susie @bowdabra
    http://bowdabrablog.com/2013/03/02/crafty-showcase-link-up-anything-fun-in-the-craft-project-linky-3/

What do you think?!?!

